About the cold year

The Cold Year is a bastard jazz trio from Salt Lake City using dynamic elements from each member to carve out a unique fusion of psychedelia and progressive rock n’ roll. Moving with ease in crumbling Cante Jondo brutal honesty pours through the foundation of their songwriting. Morose storytelling leads you through the dark and fluorescent rooms of frontman Matt Skaggs mind, with the same mundane examination many of us know all too well dealing with our own problems. The delicately harsh vocals burn slowly with flavor from drummer Josh Cannon, a heavy-hitting All-American nice guy whose ability to groove hard, stems from his technically proficient background. On bass, Mitch Shepherd drives the group energetically with his rowdiness and go-getting originality, provoking the audience to groove till they drop.  

Each fundamental detail in connection with these three jazz bastards is what has made The Cold Year an established and accepted band in the scene. They enjoy long walks on the beach, writing Seinfeld fan fiction, and distributing the works of Karl Marx to children, making for one hell of a good time and an even better band to drink to.

Join our mailing list for the latest news