"[The Cold Year] is a three-piece band that combines the storytelling of the singer/songwriter golden age of the 1970’s, with smoke-filled ballroom bastard jazz of the 1940’s with modern day indie rock..."”

Madness to Creation

The Cold Year

The Cold Year mixes the raw power and DIY attitude of garage rockers with an obsession for jazz. All of this comes bundled with dark poignant songwriting, and a raucous, irreverent live show that's sure to make you feel things you thought you had buried long ago.  

Sample track

Press links


Previous events


The Cold Year, The Velveteers, Wes Sp8 and the Apollo Proxy at The Radshack

The Radshack, 742 N 500 E, Provo

Come say farewell to one of the coolest D.I.Y. venues in Utah with The Cold Year.

Lineup: Lyfe on Mars Stephen Peterson The Cold Year The Velveteers Wes Sp8 & the Apollo Proxy


The Cold Year at Bills Warehouse for Make Music Utah Valley

Bills Warehouse, 312 S University Ave, Provo

Make Music Utah Valley is a live, free musical celebration on June 21, the longest day of the year, with concerts on streets, sidewalks, and parks across the city.

Skaggstock 2017

Skaggs house, 2113 w 475 s, Orem, UT

Skaggstock 2017 is happening. The lineup this year will be the best yet. Featuring some of the best local talent in Utah County.

Dead Metro The Mystic The Cold Year Breezeway City of Salt Cecily


The Cold Year, Branson Anderson, Salduro at ABG"s

ABG's, 190 Center St, , Provo, UT

The Cold Year will be playing at ABG's with Branson Anderson and Salduro from Logan. Come and get blackout drunk with us so we can get Mitch a new kidney.

Advent Horizon, Veio, Lost in Bourbon, The Cold Year @ Muse Music

Muse Music, 247 Center Street, Provo, UT

The Cold Year will be playing with local legends Advent Horizon, and an incredible Portland Prog Rock band Veio. We will also be joined by our good friends in Lost in Bourbon.

Queenadilla, Breezeway, The Cold Year, Mythic Valley Valentines show

Muse Music, 247 Center Street, Provo, UT

The Cold Year will be joined onstage by the wonderful Queenadilla, Breezeway and Mythic Valley for a night of romantic love and good old fashioned blues rock n' roll. Kissing booth and chalk candy provided.


Music Video Shoot @ The Boxcar Gallery

The Boxcar Studios, 156 W 500 S, Provo, UT

The Cold Year is filming their first ever music video. Come and be a part of this FREE event! IF YOU PLAN ON ATTENDING PLEASE WEAR A BLANK WHITE T-SHIRT AND BLUE JEANS.

Mortigi Tempo, Queenadilla, The Cold Year @ ABG's

ABG's, 190 Center St, , Provo, UT

The Cold Year will be sharing the stage with Mortigi Tempo, and Queenadilla. Come to the show and dress up and get a drink or two.